Skip to main content

Latin American Feminism: Home

Purpose of this guide

The purpose of this guide is to provide an introductory platform for academic studies on Feminism in Latin America. It is suitable for students in tertiary education undertaking Political Science, Development, or Gender Studies, and students studying the Spanish language who are looking to gain a deeper understanding of Latin America.

This guide takes a multidisciplinary approach in providing qualitative and quantitative resources. As it is tailored for students within the humanities, there is a stronger emphasis on qualitative research such as from the disciplines of sociology, anthropology, and political science. Nonetheless, sources of a more quantitative nature have also been incorporated. This combination encourages students to critically engage with different categories of academic information and research.

How to use this guide

The guide is divided into the following sections -- 'General Information', 'Key Topics' (Domestic Violence, Indigenous Issues, Reproductive Rights), 'Case Study' (Bolivia, Cochabamba), and 'Explore Further'. Explore each of these by clicking on the corresponding tab at the top of this page. You will find a wide range of resources and a number of external links.

Library terms explained

Journals: journals are a good source of primary information, often reporting on the outcomes of academic research or a source of practical information to practitioners in the field. They are articles written by and for scholars, researchers, and professionals. Journals are published regularly and contain the most up-to-date information.

Scholarly articles: Scholarly articles are research papers published in academic journals enabling researchers to communicate their research findings. These are original research that have the following features: published regularly, written by experts in a particular field, contain the most up-to-date research findings, infused with language specific to the particular discipline, and may be peer-reviewed or refereed.

Database - a library database is an electronic catalogue or index of published items eg. journal articles. They provide access to resources (full-text and abstract) across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Databases are searchable - can be searched by keywords, title, author, or subject. Example: ProQuest, Science Direct, Medline.

eBooks - eBooks are electronic books that are accessible online in full-text. They are available for online reading or downloading to a computer, mobile device, or eReader.

Primary sources - primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. They are created by witnesses or recorders who experienced the events or conditions being documented. Often these sources are created at the time when the events or conditions are occurring. Examples include diaries, speeches, letters, interviews, autobiographies, news footage, novels, etc.

Secondary sources - a source that interprets and analyses primary sources. These sources are removed from the actual event. Examples include textbooks, magazines, commentaries, quotes, criticisms, etc.

Referencing - Referencing means acknowledging your source. If you use someone else’s work or idea, you must acknowledge your original source. This can be done in the body of your work or in the bibliography/reference list

Subject Librarian

Access to resources

All the resources in this guide will be free to access, though there will be some restrictions. The intended audience can access all the resources through membership with the State Library of Queensland (SLQ). Membership provides free access to the relevant academic resources. This will be useful for individuals not attending a tertiary institution.

¬°Huelga! (Strike!)

Image: AMBAR DEL MORALl/Mashable