Skip to main content

Free Online Legal Resources: Case Law

This guide provides links to free online case law resources

Welcome to the Case Law Libguide

Source: Lego.com

This Libguide will assist you in locating free online case law resources primarily for Victoria and the Commonwealth, with links to other jurisdictions. There are also useful links to law report information, authorised reports as well as links to courts and tribunals. You will also find links to set up alerts for tracking case law and to follow legal topics

Legal Citation

Australian Guide to Legal Citation (4th ed)

This guide, published by the University of Melbourne, sets down and clarifies citation customs and determines best practice where no citation has been established. This guide is concerned with how sources may be identified clearly and accurately as well as simply and efficiently.

Download LibGuide

Guide Author

Marion Randall is a law librarian with 25 years experience in government departments and private law firms. If you have any feedback on this guide or suggestions for inclusion email Marion.

Case Citators

LawCite

LawCite is a division of AustLII and indexes cases, law reform documents and journal articles on the AustLII database.

LawCite

LawCite Help

Jade Citator Search

JADE Citator Search finds legal principle in passages used in judicial reasoning and also searches to paragraph level.

JADE Citator Search

Case Law

AustLII
AustLII is a joint facility of UTS and UNSW Faculities of Law. The database provides free, comprehensive and independent access to Australasian case law.

Commonwealth Case Law

Victorian Case Law

AustLII home page - links to all jurisdictions

Help with AustLII

BarNetJade

BarNet Jade offers searching of Australian legal judgments and decisions across Australian and International Courts and Tribunals.

Jade Browser

Jade Help

Law Library of Victoria

The Law Library of Victoria provides a searchable judgments database. The Library provides services to all Victorian judicial officers and members of the legal profession.

Digital Library - Judgments

Advanced Search template

High Court of Australia

Current cases before the Full Court with links to Cases decided, Case summaries and Special leave applications.

High Court of Australia Cases

Commonwealth Courts Portal

Federal Law Search provides selected information on cases initiated in the Federal Court of Australia and in the federal law jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit Court of Australia.

Information page

Commonwealth Courts Portal Login

Legal Abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications.

Monash University Legal Abbreviations Guide

This Guide can be used to find the meaning of abbreviations for legal publications.

Authorised Reports

Links to free Commonwealth and Victorian authorised reports:

CLR - (1903 - 1951)

VR - (1953 - 1996)

VLR - (1874 - 1956)

The Tale of Two Citations - the importance of using authorised reports

What is "Good" Law?

"Good" Law by Daniel Hoadley

Extract from a BIALL newsletter discussing how to classify good law.