Skip to main content

Dementia-Related Information Sources: A Guide for Professional Caregivers: Articles & Journals

Article journals

Below are some articles about dementia, which may useful for health professionals, managers/ decision-makers or researchers for its medical content or social and management aspects of dementia care.

 

Best Practice for Service Improvement of Dementia Care (Management and social aspects)

Lee, RPBamford, CPoole, MMcLellan, EExley, C & Robinson, L 2017, 'End of life care for people with dementia: the views of health professionals, social care service managers and frontline staff on key requirements for good practice', PLoS One, vol. 2, no. 6, pp. 1-19.

This article mainly discusses the end of life care services for elderly living with dementia. The research is based on today phenomenon that dementia patients in end of life services received less attention than that of cancer disease, for example on inadequate pain and palliative care interventions. In this article, the authors aim to understand the views of dementia service providers that it can be used to develop a better service. The authors collect data from service managers and frontline staff (including doctors, nurses, directors etc.) through qualitative interviews and focus group discussion. The perceptions of the service providers are analyzed in detail and completed with individual and collective views. The article outlines that end of life services require cooperation from a different kind of professionals, where it requires them not only to use skills and knowledge but also to engage and understand the condition of people living with dementia including their family members. This will be an essential source for service providers (e.g. managers, care assistants, service development leaders), health professionals who directly interact with patients (e.g. doctors, nurses etc.) and researchers who interested on the development of elder care as it contains evidence-based information that will be useful to improve the service quality of dementia care. 

 

Tay, FHEThompson, CLNieh, CMNieh, CCKoh, HMTan, JJC & Yap, PLK 2017, 'Person-centered care for older people with dementia in the acute hospital',  Alzheimer’s & Dementia: Translational Research & Clinical Interventions, vol. 4, pp. 19-27.

This article focuses to review the effectiveness of Person-Centered Care (PCC) in an acute hospital dementia unit, 'Care for Acute Mentally Infirm Elders' (CAMIE) and aims to propose if this method is effective to be applied in wider dementia service. The authors assess dementia patients' condition on usual care and after treated with PCC in CAMIE unit including its cost requirements and analyze it using multivariate analysis of covariance. The authors reveal that PCC for dementia care not only improves patients' clinical outcomes but also proofs cost-effectiveness to be applied to a wider dementia care service. This article may contribute to extending the literature about dementia and older care service, and its practical implications may be useful for the improvement of hospital practice and health care policy. The only limitations from this article might be it requires larger samples from more than one unit to support a more reliable finding. This has been indicated by the authors to use randomized controlled trials and larger sample groups for future studies. Last, this article may be a useful source for health professionals and decision-makers to improve their services and to choose the appropriate model for dementia care.

 

 

 

 

 

Systematic reviews

A systematic review evaluates a topic comprehensively and critically. This form of article is appropriate for decision makers (e.g. managers) who require a summary of evidence from previous and current research.   

McCarthy, JCollins, DL & Ducharme, S 2018, 'Morphometric MRI as a diagnostic biomarker of frontotemporal dementia: a systematic review to determine clinical applicability',  NeuroImage: Clinical, vol. 20, pp. 685–696.

This article reviews the existing literature on the application of MRI in clinical practice with emphasize on morphometric MRI. The authors aim to determine the clinical application of morphometric MRI as a diagnostic tool for frontotemporal dementia. The authors retrieve information from PubMed and PsycInfo, then systematically review the existing literature using PRISMA guidelines. Overall findings indicate the potential of morphometric MRI as a diagnostic tool for the early stage of frontotemporal dementia. Even though the authors indicate the need for rigorous methodology and validation as well as real-life trials before it is used clinically, this article may an important source for health professionals (e.g. neurologist) as it reviews the development of research on dementia diagnostic and proposes a new tool for diagnosis. 

 

Bauer, M, Fetherstonhaugh, D, Haesler, E, Beattie, E, Hill, KD & Poulos, CJ, 'The impact of nurse and care staff education on the functional ability and quality of life of people living with dementia in aged care: a systematic review',  Nurse Education Today, vol. 67, pp. 27-45. 

This article focuses on the educational provision impact on dementia aged care services. The authors aim to determine the impact of nurse and care staff education on the improvement of the quality of life of dementia patients in aged care services. The authors systematically review literature in this field from medical-related database (i.e. Medline, Embase, CINAHL, etc.) and summarise the findings from the selected articles in detail narratives. This article outlines that the quality of physical daily activities of dementia patients increase as a result of the education improvement. However, the research does not provide a strong evidence of the improvement of the quality of life, especially related to psychological of patients. The authors indicate that this research needs more rigorous methodology and suggest more additional programs for service improvement. Overall, this article may provide insight for service providers, especially managers for what is needed to improve the quality of services as well as the quality of life of patients. 

Note: To access this article contact your local library or university library located near you.     

 

 

 

Journals

This is a key open access journal titles related to dementia (it is not a complete list). Browse latest articles in these journal via PubMed, PMC, DOAJ, or Elsevier (for open access only) or open the journal websites to submit your publications. 

Alzheimer's & Dementia: Diagnosis, Assessment & Disease Monitoring (ISSN: 2352-8729) 

Published by Elsevier, this journal is developed by The Alzheimer’s Association, an organisation comprises of neurology experts who focus on research, care and support to eliminate dementia symptoms. Dating back from 2010, this journal provides open access articles since 2015-current. It comprises of peer-reviewed research articles about the discovery, development of instruments and technologies related to early detection, symptoms and risk of memory disorders. This journal not only covers the medical scope of dementia but also provide a strong background in technology related to the diagnosis of the dementia syndrome. This journal is important for health researchers and medical professionals not only as a source to access up-to-date scientific information related to dementia

 

Alzheimer's & Dementia: Translational Research & Clinical Interventions (ISSN: 2352-8737)

It is an open access journal which dating back from 2010 and provides full text from 2015-current. It published by Elsevier and developed by The Alzheimer's Association which covers broad discipline of medicine, neurophysiology, geriatrics, psychiatry, pharmaco-genetics, neuroscience, neurology, clinical psychology, bioinformatics, preclinical and clinical research on therapeutics, health economics, pharmacoeconomics, public health policy and regulatory issues related to dementia syndrome. The distinctive feature of this authoritative source is, it provides a comprehensive range of information about dementia from the medical and clinical aspects, the technology used to monitor dementia's syndrome, pharmacological aspects, economical aspects and policy aspects. Therefore, it is an essential source for health professional and researchers to access dementia-related information, also for decision-makers who interested to follow information update on the progress of economic research and regulation related to dementia care.   

 

Dementia and geriatric cognitive disorders Extra (ISSN: 1420-8008)

This journal is a peer-reviewed journal published by Karger publisher and has been indexed in PubMed, MEDLINE, WoS, Scopus, etc. It is an online-only and open access journal which dating back to1990 but provides open access articles since 2011. It covers neurodegenerative disease, with focus on one of dementia's type, Alzheimer's disease in corresponding with Parkinson’s disease and Huntington’s chorea. The subjects covered by this journal are cognitive dysfunction which emphasizes on psychology aspects (e.g. physiology, psychogeriatrics, neuropsychology), internal medical (e.g. clinical neurology), biochemistry, genetic molecular biology, pathology, immunology, pharmacology and pharmaceutics. Besides providing access to research publications, this journal also provides new research on clinical and therapeutic experience which make it different from other journals in the dementia field. This journal will provide comprehensive information for health researchers and other professionals working on the nervous system disease (especially Alzheimer's). 

 

How to find dementia journals

Scopus is the largest indexer of peer-reviewed literature developed by Elsevier and covers a wide range of subjects. It presents journal metrics, such as cite score and Scimago journal rank which can inform you of most cited dementia journals. Follow this steps to find information about authoritative journals in dementia area:

Go to https://www.scopus.com , and choose "looking for free journal ranking and metrics"

 

Then, you can choose to find journals based on subject, title, publisher. For more relevant findings, you can choose to search by title, and type "dementia" as follow:

 

The search will find 8 journals with dementia in the title. Each of the journals will have CiteScore, highest percentile (and also information about a category for which the journal have this percentage), citations counts in a period, etc.

The cite score and % cited will inform you if the journals cited by many people and have great impact, highest percentile will show you in what category this journal strong at, and there are other information in Scopus that will help you decide which journals are the best. 

In this dementia area, it seems that Alzheimer's and Dementia journal is the best journal.

 

 

 

Scopus only displays citations. Use your local library access to get the full-text article from commercial journals.

 

 

Find more

Below are some of the open access journals related to dementia

Alzheimer's research and therapy

Australian journal of dementia care

International journal of Alzheimer's disease

Journal of Alzheimers disease & Parkinsonism

Dementia & Neuropsychologia

 

Below are some of the dementia journals that need access from University Library, your local library.

Alzheimer's and dementia

Journal of dementia care

Dementia

 

Find more in databases