Skip to main content

LIBR1085 Introducing tabletop games to school libraries: Getting started

This guide provides resources for collecting and utilising tabletop games in school libraries and classrooms. Tabletop games are broadly defined here as board games, card games, role playing games and other non-digital games.

The Value of Board Games in Your Library

Harris, C. & Mayer, B., 2010. 'Child's Play: The Value of Board Games in Your Library'. Children and Libraries: The Journal of the Association for Library Service to Children, 8(3), pp.47–48.

A short introduction to using board games in primary school libraries provided by authors of the highly regarded 'Libraries got game'. The article includes a list of games recommended for ages 2-4, 6-7, 8-10, and  10-13.

International Games Week

Introducing tabletop games to school libraries

This guide has been prepared for school librarians interested in incorporating tabletop role playing games and board games into their collections and programs. Tabletop games have expanded and diversified dramatically over recent decades as the internet has facilitated cross fertilisation between different gaming traditions and fostered a global market for designer games. Modern designer games feature greater player choice and more nuanced game systems than traditional mass market games.

A trend in the last decade has been the addition of tabletop games to library collections and programs. Reasons for using tabletop games in libraries have included:

  • Encouraging community use of library spaces;
  • Finding new ways to teach the school curriculum and information literacy;
  • Fostering critical thinking, creativity and other life skills through interaction with game systems.

Resources in this guide have been selected for relevance to primary school and high school libraries, though most also address public and academic library settings. Coverage includes use of games in library programs and school curriculums, game recommendations, game selection, collection development and collection management.